

mediaRelease

Tom Malone Prize Winner 2011

The Art Gallery of Western Australia is delighted to announce that the winner of the 2011 Tom Malone Prize for contemporary glass artists is Clare Belfrage.

Now in its ninth year, the Tom Malone Prize has grown into a highly respected and eagerly anticipated event for contemporary Australian glass artists. This is reflected in the high quality of the Prize winners and the competitive shortlists.

This year's Prize was judged by Governor of the Art Gallery of Western Australia Foundation, Elizabeth Malone; AGWA's Director, Stefano Carboni; AGWA's Curator of Modern and Contemporary Photography and Design, Robert Cook. Over five days, the judges visited thirteen artists in Western Australia, New South Wales, ACT, Victoria, and South Australia.

The shortlisted artists were: Kevin Gordon, David Hay and Denise Pepper in Perth; Cobi Cockburn and Jason Sims in New South Wales; Mel Douglas, Clare Belfrage and Jeremy Lepisto in Canberra; Bethany Wheeler, Jasmine Targett, Nick Wirdnam and Lisa Cahill in Victoria; and Tom Moore in Adelaide.

"The whirlwind trip was exhilarating and our visits revealed a brilliant range of passionate and uncompromising artists who are ever so thoughtful about each element of their work's production and conceptual construction. Our lively and engaging exchanges with them gave us wonderful insights into the work they had entered in the Prize," Stefano Carboni said.

Winner Clare Belfrage's *Untitled (#291210)* was seen as a stand-out. However, the judging process was one of the most gruelling in the Tom Malone Prize history, putting the judges under great pressure in order to decide to whom to assign this year's Prize. Robert Cook stated that "the quality of the applications was uniformly high and the standard of the shortlisted works was truly extraordinary. It was not just the quality that enthralled us but also the breadth and maturity of practices we had the opportunity to witness."

The judges' comments - Elizabeth Malone, Stefano Carboni, Robert Cook

"The winner of the Tom Malone Prize 2011 is Clare Belfrage. Her blown vessel *Untitled (#291210)* is a truly superb work of art. Though deliberately subtle (as are all of Belfrage's best works), it was instantly captivating as we encountered it for the first time in the foyer of the Canberra Glassworks. We were immediately impressed by its scale, ambition and resonant beauty. It was clearly a masterpiece within Belfrage's practice so far and, accordingly, a masterpiece of Australian contemporary glass. It speaks of a sensitive and finely nuanced response to Australian aquatic fauna through a savvy contemporary design sensibility. Its clear glass base, sophisticated

fluid form and colouration, internal glass 'drawing' work and overall perfection of finish provide a breathtakingly exquisite combination. Indeed, it is a combination of qualities only possible from an artist at the very top of her form. We are so happy the Tom Malone Prize has the opportunity to reward such an achievement. It is a shimmering lively piece that will be a treasured work in the AGWA Collection for generations to come. Thank you Clare".

"AGWA is looking forward to next year's exhibition in the Gallery, which will celebrate the achievements made during the first ten years of the Tom Malone Prize. 2012 will see the tenth and final Prize in its current cycle. A slightly different format is being designed for this award but the Prize will continue as an exciting feature on the Gallery's calendar," Stefano Carboni said.



Clare Belfrage Untitled (#291210) 2010 blown glass with cane drawing 36 x 50 x 9 cm © Clare Belfrage 2010 Photo: Rob Little

Page 2 of 2













